top of page

The Full Story

ByRon Berg AWARD

Byron Berg was a founding father of our local Wisconsin section and our first president.  The award was setup to honor local section members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of industrial hygiene.  Byron Berg was our first winner of this award in 1985.


Past President Steve Strebel (2015 Berg) & Sharon Bessa (2022 Berg)

2022 Winner

Sharon Bessa, RN, CIH, CSP

Sharon has been practicing industrial hygiene in Wisconsin for over 35 years. For seven years Sharon was employed by WisCon before starting her own company which she has operated since. Sharon has been an active member of the Wisconsin AIHA Local Section, serving as a board member and twice as President. Additionally, Sharon is a member and active participant in the national AIHA by serving on several national committees and has presented six AIHce educational sessions and seven full-day AIHce PDCs on “Indoor Air Quality – The Human Factor,” a course given feedback ratings in the top three for each respective national conference she conducted this presentation. The WI-AIHA extends a big congratulations to Sharon on this remarkable achievement!

Past Winners

  • Rebecca Seevers (2019)

  • Ernie Stracener (2016)

  • Steve Strebel (2015)

  • Erik Osby (2014)

  • Kay Rowntree (2013)

  • Greg Hillmann (2012)

  • Terry Burk (2011)

  • W. Kent Foster (2008)

  • Daniel G. Feldt (1996)

  • Charles W. Fishburn (1991)

  • Jack E. Peterson (1989)

  • Paul Lange (1988)

  • Edward J. Otterson (1987)

  • Byron A. Berg (1985)

bottom of page